Core Buddhist Beliefs

The Dharma

It is not surprising, that over 2,600 years the face of Buddhism has changed. It is a very adaptive faith, which integrates into the local social and cultural fabric. Of all of the Buddhist traditions, most can be associated within three major categories (Theravada, Mahayana and Vajrayana). Common to Buddhist traditions are basic teachings of the Buddha, commonly referred to as Dharma.

Four Noble Truths

1. There is a nature of suffering (discontentment) to living.

2. There is an origin to suffering, which is self-centered craving based on ignorance of the true nature of reality.

3. There is an end of suffering.

4. The end of suffering can be achieved through transformation of personality by following the Noble Eightfold Path.

Noble Eightfold Path

The Noble Eight Fold Path consists of eight factors, which we can develop ourselves to be wiser, moral and mentally developed. This path is also called “the Middle Way,” because it avoids the two extreme religious practices of extreme sensual indulgence and extreme mortification of the body to gain liberation. This path aims to develop three aspects of our personality: morality, mental culture and wisdom. With the development of these three factors, we can liberate ourselves from unwholesome cravings and respond to the world with compassion, acceptance and bliss.

Right View: Understanding how suffering arises in the human mind and the possibility of overcoming it.

Right Intention: Developing the intentions of non-violence, letting go and compassion, which reduce suffering of oneself and others

Right Speech: Cultivating truthful, peaceful, kind and meaningful speech Right Action: Cultivating harmless, honest and faithful behaviors by refraining from killing, stealing and sexual misconduct.

Right Livelihood: Following a righteous career that does not harm other living beings.

Right Effort: Constantly attempting to maintain good thoughts and habits Right Mindfulness: Developing awareness of our body, feelings, the

Right Concentration: Developing the ability of concentration of our mind and the settling of the mind into peace and tranquility.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: